Softball Canada Awards/Achievements

Paul Gard

Builders Category, Softball Canada Hall of Fame, Inducted 2013

Paul Gard has been involved with softball for over 40 years as a player, coach and administrator. One of his crowning achievements as a player was winning the 1981 Canadian Men’s Fastpitch Championship as a member of the Crown Well Oilers from Alberta, and he also played in several World Masters Games. Paul has been involved with NWT Softball for many years, serving as President on two occasions and contributing in many other roles to develop the sport in the Territory.

He coached Team NWT to the consolation round Gold medal at the 2009 U19 Men’s International Championship, and also coached this year’s team at the U21 Men’s International Championship, losing in the consolation round finals. In addition to coaching, he also continues to play at the Masters level, recently competing at his fifth World Masters Games in Torino, Italy in 2013. Paul is not only recognized in the NWT, but also serves as a great ambassador of the game throughout Canada and around the World.

Paul was previously inducted to the Softball Alberta Hall of Fame in 2010 as a member of the 1981 Crown Well Oilers team. He is currently serving as Softball NWT’s vice-president responsible for coaching, a position he will be leaving after hosting the Softball Canada Congress. Despite leaving Softball NWT’s Board, Paul will continue to offer his advice and experience when needed.

Jimm Barr (Deceased)

Officials Category, Softball Canada Hall of Fame, Inducted 2013

Jimm Barr worked with umpires from across Canada and left his legacy as a mentor, instructor and role model. He was one umpire you wanted on your team when you went to “war”, so to speak. He had great game control and always had your back. Many umpires will remember Jimm’s stern yet fair demeanor when dealing with players and teams.

He began his illustrious umpiring career in Saskatchewan in 1980 and worked several Canadian Championships before relocating to the Northwest Territories where he would go on to serve as Umpire in Chief for five years. He continued working local games and attended several major tournaments throughout the country at his own expenses, earning Level V and International Softball Federation (ISF) Certification in 1990. He umpired in 10 Canadian Championships and worked the 1994 and 2002 ISF Women’s World Championships as well as the 2000 ISF Men’s World Championship, also officiating at the 1995 Women’s Olympic Qualifier in Puerto Rico.

Jimm served on Softball Canada’s Officiating Development Committee (ODC) from 1996 to 2000, and served as a Canadian Championship Umpire in Chief eight times and Deputy Umpire in Chief four times as well as presenting at several Blue Conventions. He moved to Saskatoon, SK in 1996 and to London, ON in 2006 where he passed away on March 8th, 2012. He is survived by his wife Diana Barr and son Nolan Barr.

Floyd Daniels

Rose Hodgson Volunteer of the Year, 2013

Floyd Daniels continues to be a major contributor to the success and growth of softball in the Northwest Territories. For nearly a decade, Floyd has donated his time to sit on the Board of Directors for NWT Softball. Currently, Floyd serves as the Vice-President of Minor Ball in the Territory. The community of Hay River, NT is the main beneficiary of Floyd’s hard work where he is recognized as the driving force behind the Bantam, Midget and Junior programs.

As a coach, Floyd has taken teams to the North American Indigenous Games (2008), multiple Western Championships and International competitions including the U19 Men’s International Championship in Charlottetown, PEI and most recently the U21 Men’s International Championship in Saskatoon, SK. Although recent injuries have forced Floyd to resign as an active Master Pitching Instructor, he continues to mentor young pitchers helping them mold their abilities and master the craft. With the ability to draw from the CANpitch program and over 40 years of playing experience Floyd is an invaluable resource to NWT Softball.

In 1996, Floyd was recognized as a co-recipient of Sport North’s Senior Male Athlete of the Year. This summer, he showed that he is still dominant in the pitcher’s circle leading his Hay River Heat team to the finals in the NWT Men’s Fastball Territorial Championship. NWT Softball is proud of Floyd’s outstanding contributions to our organization. The selfless acts seen from volunteers like Floyd have become the defining behavior of NWT Softball.

NWT Sport Hall of Fame

1974 NWT Junior Merchants – Team Category, Inducted 2013

The 1974 Yellowknife Junior Merchants were the first team from the Northwest Territories to win a National Competition.

In August 1974, this team came together to travel to Ottawa, ON to compete in the first-ever Canadian Junior Men`s Softball Championships. Despite a lack of confidence before their first game, the team came out with a win defeating New Brunswick 10-2. Their confidence started to build as they continued their streak to place first in the red division moving on to the double elimination playoff.

Although the team took the long route to the finals, due to a first round loss to Ontario, the team defeated Quebec 6-5 in the finals to win the tournament.

Notable achievements – Greg Vaydik earned a spot on the top 10 hitters list and a spot on the All-Star team, alongside Coach Bernie Boyd. Leroy Eliason was on the top 5 pitchers list and received the Most Valuable Player of the tournament.

The team members are:

Wilf Chiasson – Coach
Bernie Boyd – Coach
Ray Gagnon – Captain
Rick Muyres
Ron Muyres
Ron Lehman
Steve Vallillee
Dan Scriven
Rod Stirling
Greg Vaydik
Doug Davidge
Bob MacLean
Ralf Lehniger
Mark Gryba
Cary Gryba
Brade Enge
Bob McLarnon
Leroy Eliason
Wayne Jeske

1979 Junior Merchants – Team Category, Inducted 2015

The 1979 Junior Merchants were a team of strong pitchers, fielders & hitters. Over the season they grew as a tight knit team.

At the culmination of their season, the team breezed through the Fastball Championships to the finals, only to finish second due to a close call at the plate.

Team Members:

Glen Alexander
Scott Alexander
Craig Bentley
Kevin Daniels
Len Dies
John Ewasyke
Joker Gaida
Paul Gard
Brent Hinchey
David Inch
Randy Rechner
Rod Stirling
Andy Tereposky
Kelly Tyacke
Sigmund Undheim
John Waniandy
Doug Bothamley
Dennis Milligan
Adam Pich

Sport North Awards


Paul Gard (Ruth Inch Memorial Award – Contributor to Sport)
Glen Meehan – Denis Crane Memorial Award (Official of the Year)


James McCarthy – Denis Crane Memorial Award (Official of the Year)


U19 Team NWT – Outstanding Team


Wesclean Tigers – Outstanding Team


Floyd Daniels – Outstanding Senior Male Athlete in the NWT


Sabrina Dragon – Outstanding Female Athlete in the NWT

Other Achievements


Paul Gard – Inducted into Softball Alberta’s HOF with the 1981 Crown Well Oilers


Paul Gard, wins gold medal at Canadian Men’s Fastball Championships with Alberta’s Crown Well Oilers


NWT Junior Merchants win Silver Medal at Canadian Junior National Championship


NWT Junior Merchants win Gold Medal at Canadian Junior National Championship

Send your softball achievements to [email protected]